Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

Spotting

WCF

Help Support WCF:

Kenny Q

hi guys, I'm relatively new to wfp. I've had a bit of a problem with the odd window, but don't know what's causing it. I rinse about an inch or so off the glass with a slow to medium flow. I never allow my tds to go above 005, and haven't worked in high winds.. what else could cause spotting? Thanks.

hi guys, I'm relatively new to wfp. I've had a bit of a problem with the odd window, but don't know what's causing it. I rinse about an inch or so off the glass with a slow to medium flow. I never allow my tds to go above 005, and haven't worked in high winds.. what else could cause spotting? Thanks.
Frames scrubbed, bad seals letting dirty water run out after rinsing, not rinsing enough. You use a low/medium flow, try upping it.

If it's a window below an opener xlean the opener then get a microfiber and wipe the bottom of the frame and top of tje frame below once it has stopped drippimg and nothing should run down after it's done

Thanks chaps. It's probably a lack of experience. I do try to do the things you've advised... I'll also go on YouTube and check that it's not down to technique. Thanks

2 things

1. Your tds is over 000ppm

2. You havent rinsed well enough or allowed it stop dripping before rinsing whatever is below

Personally i always go back on forth to windows with openers, allowing it to stop dripping a bit before rinsining the lower pane.

On first cleans i scrub the entire frames and glass and rinse well, i then wipe the top frame with a microfibre, srub and rinse the top opener, microfibre dry the upvc below the opener then sscrub and rinse the lower pane.

Sound a longer process than it is in reality with a microfibre towel to hand