Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

Tax

joe34

Just wondered who does there own ?I've been paying someone the 5 years to do it for me but am thinking about it my self I'm only a sole trader.

What stuff do you claim against your tax?

Your previous tax returns should provide a breakdown of income / expenditure categories.

E.g the end of year report that the accountant has previously provided.

Good luck with it.

I us d an accountant for years. Then last year I decided to do it myself.

The online forms are easy as anything.

I put down anything I have bought for work against tax.

Some people I know claim for their lunch and also their yearly holiday as they say it's a directors meeting while they are away. I'm sure that's not right but that's up to them.

I always go the more cautious route as I can't spare the time an investigation from HMRC would need to deal with it. Although the FSB will assist if I ever did get investigated

Thanks for your input
You're welcome. You asked for opinions and that's mine.

@Poles Apart, I also have business software and hence the paperwork I hand the accountant is a lot more organised than it would otherwise be. There was an extra £3k tax free on dividends last year I would have know nothing about. He also got us some married couples credits or something. I used to buy my own food when working away, now it all gets deducted.

Yoh wouldn't have considered half the **** I claim for, including electric and gas.

I pay my accountant £120 per month to handle our concerns and never need worry about a thing. A good accountant for a sole trader that's half capable will cost about £150 per year to do your books and you'll be surprised at what that gets you (saves you paying out)

If you serious about making and saving money get a decent accountant.