Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

Hi Guys Tmike From Enfield London

T

tMike

Just joined your forum after deciding to start up window cleaning again after a 20 year break.

It seems it was a lot easier 20 years ago to get customers because every street I try to canvass now already has a long serving window cleaner charging silly money to clean their windows. ( i.e £2.50 to clean a terrace house front)

I am a handyman by trade but finding it a bit hard to do now as I am getting a bit long in the tooth.

I didn’t thing so then but I do now, the old boy I worked for retired and gave me a 280 customer domestic round and sold his commercial business. I managed to build on that foundation and ended up with 890 customers most from customer recommendations. I had to sell my round due to family illness abroad.

Any advice on how to find work these days would be most appreciated.

Cheers Guys,

tMike

Welcome to the forum.

Canvassing still works... u pick small numbers up... but it all adds up over time /emoticons/smile.png

Posting flyers out is another way.... To get a good success rate from this you have to send out at least 5,000 /emoticons/smile.png that is my opinion

Thanks for the welcome guys, any advice available on pricing in london.

tMike
This may or may not work but it did work for me with pressure washing. I phoned up about 7 pressure washing companys to come and give me a quote for my drive to be pressure washed. 5 of them came out and gave me a quote. I got a ruff idea on how to price a job and what the going rates were. One of them even spotted my van coming in to my street and said to me ''Have you not asked him to clean your drive? What did he quote you'' I made my excuses and got my quote lol. I then moved the van further round the street and awaited the rest of them coming