Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

Water pump 'clicky' noise, problem?

krys

Sup guys, its Krys.

I went to Gardiner pole systems.co.uk and bought theirs 100psi water pump and plugged it into my trolley system.

But when i turn everything on it seems to work fine, i got nice steady flow no problems, but the noise that is coming out of the water pump is concerning me, i have little knowledge about how water pumps supposed to work.

Its like constant repeating clicky noise, i have liquid logic controller with flow rate setting at 20, if i increase it to about 80-90+ the clicky noise is gone but obviously i cant work at this rate since my 25l barrel will be gone in seconds.

I do use a strainer between my barrel and pump.

From barrel to strainer i have 8id hose, from strainer to pump i have 5id hose, and from pump to my pole i have 5id hose. And the barrel is raised above the 'pump-is-a-box' setup.

If anyone does know if the clicky noise is right or not i would be very grateful for help.

Thank you.

Thanks for reply Peter.

I have tried that, i had calibration at 20, 40, 50, 70, and trying to combine with different flow rates but no change. I dont really understand what calibration does to be fair.

If I understand correctly Krys, you say you have a stretch of 5mm ID hose before the pump on the inlet side. This might cause a problem as the pump would struggle to suck water through 5mm hose. I stand to be corrected here but I would say from barrel to pump you'd best use a hose with a minimum of 8mm ID all the way. I used 8mm mini bore on my trolley even when I was using the 100 psi Sureflo pump with no problems.