Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

Hypo/soft wash guide/advice.

Diwrnach

OK so I keep seeing questions about hypo and soft washing etc so thought it might be a good idea to try and make a guide for people.

Now I am completely new to it, I have a 25l drum of hypo I have had for bloody ages and never used it as I always just pull the pressure washer out, but I have a tarmac drive with loads of moss on it next week I think hypo will be perfect for, so, lets have advice and mixtures for various jobs and surfaces and I will try and update this first post with it all to try and make a guide.

First off this is what I have, I got it from a local farm supplies shop, it was around £18 if memory serves. I believe you can also get this from swimming pool supply shops but not tried as I have a farm supply shop very local to me.

I also have a Matabi sprayer, its like the normal pump type prayers but it has viton seals, this is important as otherwise the hypo will eat the seals, these don't get eaten, it was around £30 I think? I can find a link to it if people are interested!

So, over to you hypo/soft wash experts.... (I am looking at you @Eviestevie )

List of surfaces and the recommended solution and application,

Slabs (patio/path/drive) -

Concrete -

Block paving -

Tarmac -

Conservatories -

Stone walls -

Give advice on each and I will add it, if you have any other surfaces that can be cleaned I will also add those.

Read algoclear is good for tarmac, but from my admittedly small amount of research it seems it is just a very weak hypo solution?

No

I use it flat out on Tarmac comes up brilliant and don't use a sprayer think more water can totally soak the drive it kills all on it thenpowerwash half the time To remove dead moss. If u any probs just ask

I done one before Easter real bad with moss