Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

Ro Units, Water

WCF

Help Support WCF:

J

Josho

Hi, newbie here.

Just made a Harris pole, got a decent brush head, put two jets in and run a copper pipe along side. Will get photos when completed.

Got an RO unit, a 1000l tank and a 350l tank for the car.

Now, I have an issue, we are on metered water.

How can I save money here? Water board say that we will have to go on a business tarrif and pay VAT on the whole lot. Someone on the web said they are legally obliged to put in another meter.

We got a 5 stage RO plus a DI stage.

We read my TDS and it is 157.

Rain water off the roof, through the dirty gutters in an ancient water butt is 15 TDS. We are thinking of doing this.

Is it viable to use rainwater?

How long would straight DI last at 160 TDS and 15 TDS?

Also, if I have used rain water and then stored the waste, could I put this back through as it would still be a low TDS?

Cheers for this guys! Can't wait to get it sorted but it's being a tough journey!

You don't need a ro for rainwater so there's no waste.

You will also need some serious amount of storage if you're going 100% wfp.

Yes though I've posted this somewhere before (cos am saddo) average 3 bed semi can harvest approx 85000 litres per year. But as I said you need to store it somewhere, do you have a swimming pool lol.

If you cleaned/replaced the guttering and washed the roof that tds reading would drop through the floor.

I'm no expert by the way but at 157 I think two di vessels might be better as theres no waste, Mark M and some other lads round here will be able to answer that one better though.

if you can get enough rain water use that, but run it through a di vessel, if i was you, i would but a 25 ltr di for before van and a 11 l for van

OK cheers mate.