Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

Varistream Or Any Other Flow Controllers. Do We Need Them

WCF

Help Support WCF:

tonylephard

I am new to WFP so please bear with my ignorance. I have a two person setup and one have a varistream and the other does not. I use aqua locks on both poles. Both stop water flow when aqualocks is activated. If I need reduce the pressure I simply turn the aqualocks slightly and then on fully to rinse. Can anyone explain why I need a flow controller?

What I find is the person with the flow control has it on full and controls the water flow with the aqua lock. This gives them plenty of water when rinsing. I understand that you can't adjust the waterflow when you are on second story+ windows. I suppose that you could fit a tap and turn that on slightly to control water flow. I would love your feed back am I missing the point someware?

flow cons r good cos u can turn them down for different jobs no need to have ur water above 50 on con realy, causees more probs when water on flat out an its a waste of water an resin ,50 max i say on a pure freedom flow con

In the early days (8 years ago) we found that the Shurflo pumps were pumping too much water. We used 1/2" garden hose and 3mm jets on our brushes. Even so, we found that a 65psi pump cycled due to this water over supply and the pressure switches failed prematurely. At £22 a time, they were an expensive replacement part. (We didn't know about the Maplin replacement microswitch at £2.00 back then.)

On the advise of Williamson's Pumps, I replaced the 5.2lpm 65psi pump for a 3.8lpm 100psi Shurflo pump. It reduced the cycling issues, but the higher pressure played havoc with the Hozelok hose reels and water connections.