Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

Selling Work

WCF

Help Support WCF:

joe34

Just wondered if anyone has sold any work in the past and if so how did it go? was the handover easy to do?

I'm going to sell of abit work soon but i've never done it before .I've got some good customers but like most rounds i've also the odd one that can be hard work ,and dont know how they would take it.

Who ever buys a round expects to loose about 10% - 20%

I purchased a round once was listed as close to £700 a month

he gave me the list of customers and i knocked EVERY door.

Turned out most he hadnt visited in months, some were one offs etc

I ended up with £90's worth of work.

Hence why he gave me the address's,i was basically door knocking LMAO!

My advice is sell the round, dont show him the address's but more like drive him round in a car and point to houses in the street and explain you do some here, some there. Again not giving away the actual address.

Then once you have the money, put out the letter. Any that drop off, are his problem.

Seen it done before, pre warned all customers that he was selling up, most customers cancelled as they didnt want to risk a new cleaner. Then he couldnt sell the round.

He was a tool anyway!

I sold my runs up in 2011 to enable me to move to Ireland, where I have started up again.

I found a buyer through a young lad that used to work for me.

I emailed the buyer with details of the number of customers, their location and the turnover per cycle figures, and how much I was asking for the business.

We then agreed to meet, I showed him the books, answered any questions he had, ie how long was the run established, and we agreed the price.