Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

In Your Experience...

WCF

Help Support WCF:

Tuffers

can YOU tell if a window is going to spot while the glass is still wet?

Reckon I can. The tell tale sign is beads of water that run down the glass in a straight line from the top of the glass. If you are experiencing spotting look out for for these signs.

I'm new to WFP and i'll be looking out for this today!!! "Even though I don't get much spotting now days" /emoticons/smile.png

Absolutely, the spots are very uniform when it's going to spot. SWMBO doesn't see it but I can a mile off.

Deffo agree Tuffers.

When I see a long line of little water beads I always expect trouble like spotting from it.

In my option I think the water runs on the glass different when it gets contaminated ie dirt from frames.

I've had no bother at all from customers since I started in early October but one of MY windows gives me no end of bother and I have done it at least once a week since kitting my van out at the beginning of September!

The main window has three smaller windows above it and where these are mitred in is a bit iffy to me. After I rinse the windows the water is running off the mitre joint and leaving a run of spots on the big window. They're only tiny and the wife hasn't 'spotted' them yet (thank gawd) but they are annoying me as I don't know how to get rid of them

don't wash the frame on the three little windows above big one, (only do that on first clean)

on subsequent cleans, just wipe over frame, and down each horizontal gap with slightly wet bristles, and your jets turned off, then

wash and rinse glass,

then wash big window underneath, wipe the drips off the three little windows with jets turned off, then rinse big window.