Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

Product Design

WCF

Help Support WCF:

K

Katarina Kelly

Hello everyone, I'm currently studying towards my Product Design A level and I've had an idea. My product is a window cleaner that enables you to clean the outside of windows from the inside. It sounds really complicated but I have a design and a photo of a prototype for you. I was wondering if you could be kind enough to take a moment and evaluate my product, please feel free to be as critical as you like. The prototype consists of an aluminium clamp and a push and pull mechanism which allows it to move back and forth along the window.

I designed it primarily for push open windows. Our topic was a "household problem" and this is a big one in our house, I designed this product based on the windows that we have. I'm not planning on manufacturing this fully, I'm going to leave it at the prototype stage. I was thinking robot tech but that would be far to complicated for me. The product would clamp onto the window frame and detergent and water can be pumped through. There is a push and pull mechanism inside that can be accessed safely, if you look closely you can see the white wire on the prototype. It's basic objective is to access the hard to reach areas of the windows from the inside.

Thank you I appreciate it :)

View attachment 1624

View attachment 1625

View attachment 1626

View attachment 1627

Terrible idea, it'll put me out of business!

No, seriously, can't quite make the idea out fully from the pics, not that there bad, I just can't fathom it fully. Interesting idea, however, I did once see this kind of thing on qvc, only done with magnets, don't know how successful it was, but haven't seen one yet.