Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

Self-Cleaning Glass Salt/lime Deposits

WCF

Help Support WCF:

Dominic Bond

I have been cleaning a property for about six months on a four-weekly basis using the traditional method. It turned out that the glass is self-cleaning and heavy deposits of lime/salt has appeared on the glass (we are near the sea and it rains a lot around here). The customer called the glass company and they blamed me (the window cleaner) for using washing-up liquid. I have since Googled Pilkington and they say that you can use detergent on their windows, but not to use blades. I admit using my blade (with plenty of water on some of the windows, but I dont think that is the cause of the problem. The customer would like to know if there is anything that can take the deposits of salt/lime off the window. I would be grateful for a reply as he is trying to pin the blame of €10,000s of damage to me.

Thank you

Just to clarify when you said you used a blade do you mean a glass scraper or squeegee?

If you use either and the customer finds out their self cleaning glass dosen't work as well as it should then yes you are in deep dodo I am affraid as you could end up with a large claim on your hands.. For your sake I do hope you are insured for damage to the property being worked on

This maybe of interest http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&frm=1&source=web&cd=5&ved=0CFcQFjAE&url=http%3A%2F%2Fcms.pilkington.com%2Fassetmanager_ws%2Ffileserver.aspx%3Fcmd%3Dget_file%26file_id%3D3562%26digest%3DMeHyyfZcgg5M388jnWiioA%3D%3D%26ct%3Dpdf%26file_name%3DPilkington_Activ__Cleaning_and_Maintenance_Guidelines.pdf&ei=QDtQUs3IKKO50QXi94HIBg&usg=AFQjCNEh4BGzIy6C7miZd0iTQZhGm3fr2Q&bvm=bv.53537100,d.d2k