Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

Just Starting

WCF

Help Support WCF:

Sambo1234

Hi guys i have been looking into starting a window cleaning round i am currently working full time but will start on the weekends and see how it goes. I have bought all the actual window cleaning equipment i think i need apart from ladders. i am a bit worried about ladder safety. i have seen some a lot of different aids to help i was woundering if any one could give me some advice and maybe some dos and donts as i am a newbie and only 21 so i dont want to cripple my self for the rest of my life if possible haha /emoticons/biggrin.png

welcome to the window cleaning world....that is a good idea to just start out at the weekend, also a lot of customers are about and will see you so you will pick up work fast and of course if its not to your liking you can still change your mind...top dog mr smurf is the best to advise .....i can say that when my 3.5 ladders were worn out i bought the bigger 4.2 even though i don't really need it and it is heavier but i am glad i did...no stretching and it doesn't move.. ..common sense at the foot of a ladder is your best friend....i always jump on the first rung on grass to sink it in a bit and repair the damage afterwards with my foot, and take much more care on wet days...one more tip i can pass on is a weed wand burner, believe it or not.....you can burn the spot you park your ladder dry....on a lot of windows it may be better to go above the window...i have had forty years on a ladder and been pretty lucky as a sole trader with no one to foot the ladder i have only fallen the once and that was my fault...so take your time and hopefully you will be alright....remember if in doubt leave it out...its not worth the risk.