Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

Van or trailer???

Mick

Ive been using wfp for 7 years and it's honestly a god send. But I've often wondered whether it would be worth using a trailer instead of using a van??

I know a van is the logical thing to use but I really like the idea of unhooking the trailer at evenings and weekends and driving around in pretty much any vehicle you prefer. I know that manoeuvring a trailer would take some practice but what other bad points are there?

Has anyone got a trailer system? Your thoughts would be much appreciated

Having a trailer sounds better in theory than in reality I found.

Going from a trailer to a van was the best move for me. The trailer I started with with was this;

http://www.window-tools.com/window-cleaner-trailer-system.htm

It was a costly mistake TBH as it wasn't fit for purpose. I had 3 new hubs as the wheel bearings failed. According to a trailer supply and repair company in Middlesbrough, the trailer was over weight and hence the reason for the failures.

I couldn't store the trailer inside the garage so all the pipes froze solid in the winter. It carried 375 litres of water which wasn't enough for the days work. It was unbraked and I used a Suzuki Carry van to tow it. The van was too lite to legally tow it so I carried 4 x 25 litre plastic containers of water as ballast. I also used them to fill the trailer up in the afternoon so I could continue.

Due to weight and towing regulations of braked and unbraked trailers, you will need at least a medium size family car to be safe, ie Focus size. I had a small van to store my poles and ladders in. Having a car makes that more of a challenge.