Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

Standards/ first clean

WCF

Help Support WCF:

P

philb

I'm a newbie just about to start out in the world of wfp. Decided to practice on my own house which hasn't had windows cleaned in at least 7months since we moved in. A few queries/questions -

1. Tried scrubbing with pole brush for a bit but little bit of dirt in corner wouldn't clear - will this come off after a few cleans or do I need to use something else? 

2. Black bits stuck to cill - if I pick with my nail eventually comes off but not with brush. Would you clean this off if was a customer & first clean?

3. This window has been fitted recently and has some yellow staining on frame - how would you get it off & again would you be expected to get it clean? (I ask because I would have said yes but my wife says not expected as builders muck)

4. After cleaning first floor window I looked from inside and realised cill was still dirty (without going in customers house) how do you know if cleaned first floor cill ok? Ladders or just presume it's ok until customer pulled you up? (Don't like thought of 2nd option)

thanks

IMG_4187.JPG

IMG_4189.JPG

IMG_4190.JPG

IMG_4192.JPG

what brush u using? If it's a sill brush then you should get it all off, of not it's a little trickier. If you use some ubik/virisol/no nonsense degreaser on 1st cleans it'll be a lot easier, spray some on brush, scrub all over frame sill and glass, leave a min, scrub again and rinse like a man possessed until no bubbles are left. Then once the top frame stops dripping go over the glass as normal. Some stains won't come off easily and then it's a magic sponge job, but most will. It'll take 2-3 times the time of a normal clean, so make sure you charge appropriatly I.e first clean charge double normal price, will help weed out Messer's too.