Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

Ro flushing help

WCF

Help Support WCF:

CHWS

I'm new to the ro. Had my tank filled up so went to turn the water on and tested the water and it was coming out at 6. I've a 450gpd Collins. I flushed it for about a minute and it went down to 1 then 0 and then closed over the flush and it seems to be staying at 0. Is it procedure to flush them every now and then? And when the tds creeps up how do you diagnose wether it's the resin needing changed or the pre filters? 

My procedure is always the same

Open flush completely and turn on water

I have 2 taps on a y splitter where the product water comes out (1 to di/tank and 1 to the garden)

After about a minute shut flush completely as inline restrictor manages the flushing while running

With a 4040 you need to leave the valve open a bit

Open the tap to garden and run for a minute or so until water is as low ppm as it is gonna get before di and then shut that and open the one to di/tank

That stops the tds spike from ruining your resin too quick 

You will always get a high reading before di if you test it too quick and don't let it run for a couple of minutes

I usually open the flush for a minute when finished also to clear it out

Last edited by a moderator:
I'm new to the ro. Had my tank filled up so went to turn the water on and tested the water and it was coming out at 6. I've a 450gpd Collins. I flushed it for about a minute and it went down to 1 then 0 and then closed over the flush and it seems to be staying at 0. Is it procedure to flush them every now and then? And when the tds creeps up how do you diagnose wether it's the resin needing changed or the pre filters? 
Pre filters make no difference to tds they just remove stuff harmfull to the ro membranes