Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

Hey guys , don't want to be a "lurker" anymore

Wintero

Hey guys,

Just thought I would introduce myself as I no longer wish to "lurk" and there is a ton of good advice on this forum from what I've seen so far and you seem a friendly bunch (from what I've seen aha)

Basically I'm stuck in a job that consumes too much of my time for the amount of money or happiness I get from it. Mid last year decided I want a new challenge and started to research setting up as a window cleaner. Unfortunately stuff kept getting in the way but this year I would actually like to make a go of it. Now as I originally knew nothing about it I have tried to research areas as best as I can but I'm still a total newbie. I figured that the best way would be to start a fresh round as buying work is expensive and sometimes you seem to get a lot of work that is fairly badly priced ( I could be wrong please correct me if I am ) . I also was going to start off by doing weekends using traditional methods, seeing how much work I can generate, and then buying a WFP system when I commit to going full time. However this point has been raised on the forum before and I cant tell if people like being bothered on a sunday and also I can't really see it looking too professional to only do weekends. Opinions on this more than welcome. Another thing I'm considering is the vehicle I will use, When I first start off I'm thinking of using an astra van. Reason being is cheap to buy and insure (I have just turned 24 insurance can still be a problem for me), a lot of people seem to use cars for window cleaning so I'm sure payload and space must be ok. Also when business grows just move up to something bigger like maybe a vivaro or something transit sized. Again I could be wrong about this but this is just ideas. My final q