At what TDS do you switch the twin DI vessels around?

Discussion in 'Water Fed Pole Cleaning' started by slippy, Jan 25, 2016.

Advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums.
    Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

  1. slippy

    slippy Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    12
    My DI vessel reached TDS 5, worth waiting until ten before I run it through the second one?
     
    Advertisement
  2. ♠Winp®oClean♠

    ♠Winp®oClean♠ Forum Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    221
    In reality you've nothing to gain by waiting till it gets to 10ppm. With a twin DI set up you're still going to be using the resin whether it reads 001 / 005 or 010ppm as you're utilizing it to pre-filter new resin. So it will still work for you in the same way regardless.;)
     
  3. Damo

    Damo Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,792
    Likes Received:
    689
    The idea is to have the DI vessels connected in series. So pure comes out of RO into first DI then onto second DI then into tank.

    If you producing at say 15PPM from the RO, you wouldn't change the resin in the first DI until it hits 14PPM. Once it hits 15PPM the first DI is doing nothing to help lower TDS. It can actually have a negative effect on the water for the second DI.

    You would then take the first DI out. Refill with new resin and then place that in position number TWO. Once the first DI has reached 14/15PPM again. You repeat the process.
     
  4. Alien Human

    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    339
    i change it over once it goes anything above 000ppm.

    Used to wait till about 7ppm but as has been commented above it just starts acting as a pre filter so don't see the point waiting to change it over.
     
  5. Damo

    Damo Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,792
    Likes Received:
    689
    But not swapping it over you are wasting resin.
     
  6. Alien Human

    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    339
    Is that for me Damo - I agree with you mate (swap them over)

    Worth noting that I'm only twin di (no RO for me!)
     
  7. Damo

    Damo Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,792
    Likes Received:
    689
    Gotcha :)

    Maybe OP is just twin Di
     
  8. adamangler

    adamangler Wakefield Window Warrior
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    2,138
    Likes Received:
    636
    I change mine at 1. I want to know if i get a complaint that its not the water, anything over 2 or 3 i would be panicking
     
  9. PureWash James

    PureWash James Newcomer
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    We have our TDS at 150. We connect two D.I together directly from the tank (we keep everything in the vans, D.I on demand)

    When it goes over 5ppm we change the first D.I with new resin and move the second D.I to first.

    Saves having holding tanks etc.
     
  10. slippy

    slippy Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    12
    #10 slippy, Jan 28, 2016
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2016
    Yeah I have no RO, just two DIs. TDS is 240. Anyone recommend an RO system? Only need 100 litres a week at the moment.
     
Advertisement