Booster pump set up

Discussion in 'Water Fed Pole Cleaning' started by Aqua, Jun 30, 2016.

Advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums.
    Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

  1. Aqua

    Aqua Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi everyone.
    I have a ro set up with 2 pre filters and the 40/40 membrane. It works ok but I would like to speed production up.
    I would really appreciate some guidance on adding a booster pump to it. What pump to use and what's exactly does it go? Pictures would be great.
    Thanks
     
    Advertisement
  2. spruce

    spruce Grand Master
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    2,536
    Likes Received:
    736
  3. Aqua

    Aqua Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks for the reply. Must admit I didn't expect pump to be that expensive tho do you really need one that big?
     
  4. Aqua

    Aqua Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    4
  5. spruce

    spruce Grand Master
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    2,536
    Likes Received:
    736
    Cast iron construction would be a no no for me because of rust.

    A fellow windie has a transfer pump with a cast iron body and he has to let it run until the rust is removed from the housing. You can't do that with a booster pump.
     
  6. Aqua

    Aqua Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    4
    That's a good point actually didn't think of that. I will keep looking then.
     
  7. spruce

    spruce Grand Master
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    2,536
    Likes Received:
    736
    #7 spruce, Jul 3, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2016
    If I was considering a booster pump I would need to ask someone who can advise correctly.

    If you have a small RoMan type r/o then putting a booster pump onto that will increase the water pressure on the membranes as the pump produces more water at high pressure than the r/o 'consumes' or uses.

    But once you go toward 4040's this becomes more difficult to understand as you need pressure as well as volume.

    Now I see there are booster pumps that only produce a Maximum pressure of 1.5 bar. 1.5 bar = 21 psi. That maybe fine for a swimming pool filter pump but I don't see it being any good for r/o use. The highest pressure I've seen is 4.5 bar = 68 psi.

    Now here is a pump that starts to make sense to me with a max pressure of 94.5 psi.
    Pumps : Heavy Duty Pump Continous Rated (24 X 7 usage)

    I don't see a pressure rating on booster pump GAPS recommends. Salamander sell a shower booster pump - it has a max pressure of 3.0 bar. That's less than our 50 psi water pressure at the tap. I've heard it said that if you feed a 40 psi water pressure into the pump you will get a delivery pressure of 90 psi. That needs clarifying.

    If you need the r/o to work faster as you are short of water, then maybe you might consider a 2nd or 3rd IBC tank so you have a bigger storage availability when you want water. One of the issues most have is that if they run a couple of vans then usually everyone wants to fill up at the same time.
     
  8. spruce

    spruce Grand Master
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    2,536
    Likes Received:
    736
    I've just found a psi spec on that CBM240E booster pump from Clarke. It will pump to a max pressure of 112psi or 8 bar. That's why June from Gaps recommends it as the ideal booster pump for a 4040.
     
  9. Aqua

    Aqua Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2014
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks spruce appreciate all your advice I was just not expecting to have to pay £300 to do this upgrade. So basically I would need a pump with at least a pressure of say 70psi if not more? Im not sure yet what my mains pressure is but ive ordered a gauge to check it.
     
  10. spruce

    spruce Grand Master
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    2,536
    Likes Received:
    736
    You also need to consider how much water comes out of your tap, so you will need to measure that as well.

    If you have pipes that are partially blocked with lime scale and calcium deposits you may have the pressure but you won't have the flow.

    If you aren't getting enough water through the pipes then a booster pump is not going to give you the results you are trying to achieve.

    -
     
Advertisement