can i fill my tank with water from lake?

Discussion in 'Water Fed Pole Cleaning' started by tiktik, Jul 8, 2015.

Advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums.
    Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

  1. tiktik

    tiktik Active Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    36
    im lucky enogh to live near a lake can i purify the water an use it or does it get sloppy
     
    Advertisement
  2. peter rogers

    peter rogers Grand Master
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    584
    wats the ppm reading
     
  3. tiktik

    tiktik Active Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2015
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    36
    havent a clue yet but its all cloudy and green
     
  4. cheapncheerful

    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    6,489
    Likes Received:
    2,043
    and does the owner mind...:D
     
  5. Alien Human

    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    340
    I'm leaning towards no.....can't imagine ppm is going to be low but let us know
     
  6. peter rogers

    peter rogers Grand Master
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    584
    well cloudy an green doesnt sound to good lol

    id check with ppm first lol
     
  7. MrBump

    MrBump Guest

    Cloudy and green haha, you've answered your own question there. Imagine how quickly it would clog up the filters. Maybe if it was a gigantic lake from melted snow run-off or something it might be worth it, but I'd save the lake and its wildlife and leave the water in it and stick to rainwater or the tap :thumbsup:
     
  8. Roy

    Roy Active Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    17
    I guess you would have to filter the water first down to a realistic level otherwise your would kill the RO system.

    I guess you would need a few tanks, each time cleaning the water down to a level acceptable to go thru a RO system.

    But im petty sure lake water which is green would give you a sky-high ppm reading.

    You would be better catching some rain water instead.
     
  9. heyoh

    heyoh Active Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    63
    cloudy and green doesn't necessarily mean high ppm, my ibc collecting rainwater (although covered) still has algae and some grit in it, yet tds is around 010. so just check the tds. you would definitely need sediment filter (maybe two stage)
     
Advertisement