Do I Need A New Ro?

Discussion in 'Water Fed Pole Cleaning' started by joe34, Sep 22, 2013.

Advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums.
    Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

  1. joe34

    joe34 Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    10
    Hi ,

    Im getting though quite abit of resin as i'm having to change it every couple of weeks or the reading goes sky high .

    I tested the water after it come out the ro and it was coming out at 63ppm before it goes into the di bottle.I've been told if the pressure isn't that great when filling up that this can effect the ro is this true ? is there anything I can do to the ro to get the reading down or do you think I need a new one as it's costing a lot in resin.

    Any help would be great thanks.
     
    Advertisement
  2. All Round Cleaning

    All Round Cleaning Grand Master
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3,246
    Likes Received:
    150
    Could try using a booster to start with .
    Whats your tds in and what is the pressure ?
     
  3. Eclipse

    Eclipse Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    67
    Are you flushing the membranes regularly?
     
  4. joe34

    joe34 Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    10
    No I didn't know you have to do that how do you flush it? the tap water before it goes in is around the 450 mark.And when you say a booster do you mean a pump to push the water through faster? not sure what the pressure is i'll find out.
     
  5. Eclipse

    Eclipse Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    67
    What type of RO is it? If it's the standard 10" type then there should be a tap on the waste pipe to backflush the membranes, I do mine every week for at least an hour.
     
  6. doug atkinson

    doug atkinson Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    54
    Hi Joe,

    Your membranes are hardly performing well, hold old are they. You may have to change them.
     
  7. David Taylor

    David Taylor Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    30
    your membranes are only rejecting 86% they should be rejecting 95% at least.

    they have probably had their day.
     
  8. joe34

    joe34 Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    10
    How much am I looking at for a new membrane any idea? can I put it in myself or is better to get someone who knows what they are doing?
     
  9. Eclipse

    Eclipse Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    67
    £30 each assuming it's a standard 10" system and a piece of cake to fit.
     
  10. joe34

    joe34 Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2013
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    10
    I'm going to sound like a clueless idiot here but is it just one membrane you have to put in and you put it in that tube? (ro) ?
     
Advertisement