Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

Fresh cleans. Can't stop spotting please help

WCF

Help Support WCF:

lewiilew

Hi all I've just bought a reach and wash business and I've been doing it for around 2 months now. I'm 21 and just starting out so I'm apreciative of all advice. Basically I have had no problems with my existing customers as they have been cleaned by reach and wash for 6 years. I've picked up some new work and every new clean I do I get complaints regarding spotting on the windows. I'm running out of ideas as I scrub well and rinse thoroughly. I have a vikan pole and fat boy backpack my water is at 0.01 ppm.

Which windows are affected and where are the spots (are they at the top of the window only). Do you have the same problem with each new clean? How do you clean a house? Do you do the tops all the way round and then start at the beginning and do the bottoms, or do you do tops and then bottoms straight afterward? etc.

When we started wfp (and we bought a trad round from couple of glass cleaners only) we scrubbed and rinsed windows and frames and then went onto the next house. We then came back and redid the first house, cleaning windows only. There were a couple that weren't right after that which we bladed off. Next clean they were fine.

We still have a few houses where we have to do top openers first and then come back a couple of hours later and do the bottoms. Some windows don't do wfp, even UPVC ones.

What brush are you using and how do you rinse?

Last edited by a moderator:
Welcome @lewiilew, is it spotting or runs in a vertical line? When I clean my house I always get a run on my bedroom window no matter how much I scrub and rinse. Are you rinsing thoroughly?