Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

Got a call

WCF

Help Support WCF:

Korey

Don't know if this is the best place or not but need some advice

I received a call but missed it so they left a message, it was a call from some educational hub in Scotland, they asked me if I was interested in cleaning some schools around Glasgow area...

I'm new to this entire thing, I'm not set up for commercial work but don't wanna turn it down

My question is, what do I need to go down commercial road?

I'm not saying this call was but there are some 'scams' around that try and get newish businesses to advertise in school brochures that are supposed to go to parents but never seem to actually get published.
An educational hub - no idea what one of those is, I would check them out in a big way.
Just saying be careful!!!

For commercial work you would probably need RAMS and maybe a higher level of insurance all depends on their t&c.

Commercial work varies hugely with what they will require, should be RAMS , and 5 million public liability insurance as a bare minimum and certain companies then have their own criteria with what they want you to have . Some don’t ask for anything ???

Usually schools have a window cleaning contract in place. By asking a newbie to quote who doesn't know the pitfalls, they get a low price that they use to bargain the price down with their current cleaners.

I'm of the firm belief that we need to learn to crawl first before we start to walk. When we were asked to quote to clean our local primary and high school, I already had commercial experience. Even doing a walk around, talking pictures and accessing ease of access, I underestimated the time it would take to do the external annual clean. However, I overestimated the time it would take for the internal clean, so it balanced itself out.