Gutter vac power from van?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat & Introductions' started by Lewis, Oct 9, 2016.

Advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums.
    Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

  1. Lewis

    Lewis Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    96
    Just in the process of sorting a new van and was wondering if there is a way of powering a gutter vac from the van?
    Thanks
     
    Advertisement
  2. Solarpanelcleanington

    Solarpanelcleanington Forum Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    158
    Generator. You could get a 240v inverter and run off a bank of batteries I guess.......you'd need loooooooooads though.
     
  3. Lewis

    Lewis Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    96
    Thanks,
    Yeah I was thinking generator, most of the times a customer is in so I plug in to there power supply just getting a new van sorted and wondered if there is a easy way.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  4. tench0771

    tench0771 Grand Master
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    4,280
    Likes Received:
    932
    u can get a genny quite cheep £250 dileverd from (sgs genarators )
     
  5. WWC

    WWC Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    159
    I looked at inverters, but didn't think they were feasible for the power I draw with the vac. So, I bring a generator on the jobs I can't plug into the customer's own power socket.
     
  6. Lewis

    Lewis Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    96
    What size generator would I need?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  7. WWC

    WWC Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    159
    The generator needed depends on the Watts draw by the vacuum. You need a genny that can supply more than the Watts of the vacuum as the w draw is greater when it starts up and when it's straining under load.

    It gets more confusing as many generators aren't rated by watts, but by kVA.

    What power is your vacuum?
     
  8. adamangler

    adamangler Wakefield Window Warrior
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    2,138
    Likes Received:
    636
    I use a genie from the van. Inverter would be great but too much £££

    My genie is 2.3kva but vac is 1250w
     
  9. Lewis

    Lewis Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2015
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    96
    My vac is a grippa tank one 2400w 240v house hold plug what size genie will I need Adam?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  10. WWC

    WWC Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2012
    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    159
    A 3.5 kVA gennerator will probably run your 2400w vacuum. To be sure the generator can handle it, when the vacuum is straining, I would hire one first personally. 3.5 kVA is a common size for hire companies nearly me, so hopefully near you too.

    Test the vacuum under load eg running on full power, simulate lifting a grass clump - put you hand mostly of the nozzle for a minute.

    Some generators have a cut out, so are easy to tell if the load is too great. Others just don't supply enough power and you have to listen to the sound of the motors. Can you hear if the vacuum motors sound the same as when powered by an electric socket when under load?

    When starting a vacuum running on a generator, don't start all mothers all at once, give it a second or two between motors. They need more than their normal power level when starting.

    Note: If you get a generator that is Watt rated, they will have 2 ratings. Maximum and normal running Watts. You need to look. At the normal running watt value, not the max.
     
Advertisement