HF4-4040 What should my TDS be?

Discussion in 'Water Fed Pole Cleaning' started by Daniel Mc, May 20, 2016.

Advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums.
    Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

  1. Daniel Mc

    Daniel Mc Member
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    21
    Hi all,

    Last year I bought a used Brodex Portapower trolley-had a few probs with it so started to do the rainwater harvesting method whilst I converted over from trad to pole which has gone swimmingly. Anyway, got to a point where it wasn't raining enough (yes, I know...) so I've got my trolley up and running with a new HF4-4040. I've installed a water softener vessel, then the water goes through a 150psi booster, then through a 20in Fibredyne Carbon filter then into my RO then into my resin. My tap water is 360-370ppm-it's coming out the RO at 17-18. Was expecting slightly better results than that as the RO is meant to have 98-99% rejection rate. I've played around with getting the right waste ratio. Currently running at 60% waste 40% product. Just checking if I'd set it up ok?!? Any thoughts. Thanks in advance.
     
    Advertisement
  2. Eviestevie

    Eviestevie Grand Master
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2015
    Messages:
    2,071
    Likes Received:
    592
    Must be something not quite right here
    Should be coming out at zero for def
    Is it a new filter? If so run it for while
    And if it's passing through di as well before tank then def 000
    Must be something contaminating the water
    ejst are you checking the out coming water in?
     
  3. spruce

    spruce Grand Master
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    2,536
    Likes Received:
    736
    95% rejection rate for a 4040 isn't good tbh.

    As it was a used purchase, you unfortunately have no idea what's its first life was like. It could well be that the membrane needs replacing.

    Brodex sell their units new without a carbon block prefilter saying that we don't have enough chlorine in the water to damage our membranes. If the previous owner only had a sediment filter as Brodex supply, then I would say the problem is your membrane has been previously damaged by chlorine. Membranes have zero tolerance for chlorine.

    The other thing to check is the the riser tube in our di vessel has an o ring in its head. Brodex apparently used to remove it. Removing it reduces the efficiency of the resin.

    -
     
  4. Daniel Mc

    Daniel Mc Member
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    21
    Hi,

    The water is 000 after the resin, its when I test the water straight out of the RO which is 17-18.

    The membrane is new directly from Axeon, I flushed it for over an hour to get rid of the chemicals.
    Maybe I'm just being picky as the resin will cope fine with 17-18. The rain water I have been using was usually around 40-50 off my roof and my last bag of resin lasted me a year! I'm only using about 600ltr of pure a week as only do upstairs at mo. Just wondered if there was anything glaringly wrong with my setup or if others have had similar results with their membranes especially in a hard water area.

    Is my waste to pure ratio ok at 60waste/40 pure?
    Could softening the water be having a negative effect?
     
  5. doug atkinson

    doug atkinson Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    54
    It will be back pressure, Brodex insert a drilled washer which has probably rusted away. Change your waste outlet to a gate valve
     
  6. Daniel Mc

    Daniel Mc Member
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    21
    Hi Doug, thanks for your reply. Currently the waste is controlled by a valve on the top with a plus/minus dial-I assumed this was a gate valve?
     
  7. doug atkinson

    doug atkinson Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    54
    The gate valve can easily be changed. Have you flushed the membrane for a good couple of hours as you need to flush the chemicals off the membrane. How many litres per minute does your pump do as this could be the problem. Also your filter, try it minus the filter as it may be clogged.
     
  8. Daniel Mc

    Daniel Mc Member
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2015
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    21
    image.jpeg image.jpeg Hi Doug- I have attached a pic of the valve currently attached. I ran the water for 1hr and a half and have subsequently run it for 14hrs producing pure water. The filter is brand new, I also left that running with water through it for an hour before attaching it to RO.
     
  9. spruce

    spruce Grand Master
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2012
    Messages:
    2,536
    Likes Received:
    736
    You do have a hose attached to the waste valve going out to the drain don't you Daniel Mc ?
     
  10. doug atkinson

    doug atkinson Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    54
    Unscrew the valve and have a look inside when you turn it there should be a plate that closes and opens it as you turn it. You can get another gate valve from b&q.
     
Advertisement