Hi - New User

Discussion in 'Chit Chat & Introductions' started by marku, Aug 2, 2011.

Advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums.
    Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

1. marku

marku Guest

Hi
    Just joined and wanted to introduce myself.
    I have been doing window cleaning for 25 years now and have had a Pole system for approx 4 years. Love my job but contracts drying up with recession etc - any ideas anyone?
    Thanks

Advertisement
  2. wayne

wayne Newcomer

Hi mark am new here myself & new to this line of work. I myself have writen to loads of commercial asking to put in a price when up for tender not sure if ive done the right thing only time will tell sorry i cant be of more help & welcome

3. nearlyclean

Supplier

I think a lot of commercial companies are cutting back or get someone real cheap.I've looked at ways to cut over heads

4. Catherine

Catherine Guest

Hi Marku

How do you normally get commercial work?

5. lisaheader

lisaheader Guest

Hey Marku, nice to meet you ;)
    And I would like to ask the same.. How do you get commercial work?

6. Catherine

Catherine Guest

Hi Lisa

Some contracts are the right place right time type. The phone is good, but I find it all dependent on areas. For example I got around 13 booked appointments by cold calling in around 12 hours - sometimes it can be better sometimes it can be worse. I know two of those jobs have been signed off, others pending or quote has gone to head office. Its surprising what you learn as well. One of the companies has 5 other buildings under their umbrella - so it really pays to do a bit of phoning around. This is for window cleaning, but I dont see why it wouldnt work for carpet cleaning etc.

Hope that helps

7. nearlyclean

Supplier