New Membranes

Discussion in 'Water Fed Pole Cleaning' started by chip, Jul 19, 2012.

Advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums.
    Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

  1. chip

    chip Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,457
    Likes Received:
    35
    For the life of me I can't remember how long to flush when new, was it 1 hour or 2 ? Answered it enough times but the memory forbids me today!
     
    Advertisement
  2. chip

    chip Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,457
    Likes Received:
    35
    Come on come on! I've got this thing flushing like niagra falls out here! Ppm only at 19 after half hour so I'm guessing it's 2 hours. I really can't remember!
     
  3. rcproperty

    rcproperty Hero
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    8,037
    Likes Received:
    244
    pre filters and membrains i aways flush for 2 hours!
     
  4. chip

    chip Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,457
    Likes Received:
    35
    Yeah, thats my inkling, just going on ppm! Down to14 after an hour.
     
  5. rcproperty

    rcproperty Hero
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    8,037
    Likes Received:
    244
    nice one, i know when i have my RO runnin for a bit, the ppm comes out at 012 cant get it lower before the resin!
     
  6. chip

    chip Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,457
    Likes Received:
    35
    My last pair got to 12 too. So want at least that!
     
  7. chip

    chip Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,457
    Likes Received:
    35
    Had its 2 hours and seems to have settles on 13, but think it might work down a tad more over a few days, we'll see. One slight oddity is that after di it's on 5, no problem as such, it's old resin, it's just that when the last membranes led to it it was last going through at 10 from mid thirties. Come to think of it I've noticed if I turn the water off for a few days the tds goes higher than it was. Scientific explanation anyone? I know the membranes start a bit higher, but they go down
     
  8. rcproperty

    rcproperty Hero
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    8,037
    Likes Received:
    244
    when water is turned off it gives all filters etc to settle and thats when sll the muck dirties the water again just flush it all befor putting through the resin!
     
  9. chip

    chip Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,457
    Likes Received:
    35
    I do that, don't work though. It used to, see if these new membranes return it to norm
     
  10. rcproperty

    rcproperty Hero
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    8,037
    Likes Received:
    244
    must be doing something wrong then.
    after mine has been turned of for a few days i always flush them for about 10-15 minutes that always brings them down to 12 then put it through the resin to bring it down to 000ppm!
     
Advertisement