Ro Set Up

Discussion in 'Water Fed Pole Cleaning' started by bluemonkey, May 17, 2013.

Advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums.
    Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

  1. bluemonkey

    bluemonkey Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,134
    Likes Received:
    28
    Advertisement
  2. David Taylor

    David Taylor Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    30
    the RO membrane works like this

    water enters inlet and is forced through the membrane under pressure (the membrane only allows water molecules through to the centre (97/99%) as the holes become worn over time this will allow other contaminants through pushing up your ppm.

    the other stuff is forced along the outside of the membrane to the waste pipe and down the drain

    the water molecules from the centre of the membrane are allowed through another outlet to a holding tank or then through a DI vessel to your van tank etc.

    You do not need 3 pre filters Gardiner sell an all in one 10 inch for about 20 quid which i use now this helps maintain water pressure at the RO.
     
  3. bluemonkey

    bluemonkey Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,134
    Likes Received:
    28
    can you find the link for what you got, as cant seem to find what you use
     
  4. David Taylor

    David Taylor Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    30
  5. bluemonkey

    bluemonkey Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,134
    Likes Received:
    28
    so if i get that, and 1 houseing, i then connect my water in, and i will end up with 2 water outs, 1 pure 1 waste, run waste away and pure to di,
     
  6. David Taylor

    David Taylor Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    30
    No this is a pre filter not an RO membrane.

    You asked a few questions I just answered the RO question.

    this it before the RO to prolong its life and cut larger particles and chlorine out etc
     
  7. David Taylor

    David Taylor Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    30
  8. bluemonkey

    bluemonkey Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,134
    Likes Received:
    28
    ok, just using prefilters, will this lower the tds, or will it be a waste of time with out a membrane
     
  9. David Taylor

    David Taylor Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    30
    waste of time i`d say, if only using DI most people that use DI usually have reasonable quality water any way 100ish ppm or less.

    if your not using a lot of pure you could go higher but the cost mounts up.

    Saying this my ppm goes from 65 - 90 up and down and I still use RO and never really buy DI resin.

    What is your reading?
     
Advertisement