Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

Softwashing newbie! Advice guys!

Hi guys please find attached below this area been re-mortered. Just wondering if softwashing will bring this up? I've got some 14-15% hypo in my shed but never used it before. What sort of mix should I use? Or should I use something else to bring it up.. I've noticed lot of videos people using masks and not using... I'm happy to buy one if required. Any advice would be massively appreciated as never used this chemical before. Cheers guys

Attachments

• 20220520_091904.jpg
    20220520_091904.jpg
    89.3 KB · Views: 11
  • 20220520_091849.jpg
    20220520_091849.jpg
    87.8 KB · Views: 11
  • 20220520_091841.jpg
    20220520_091841.jpg
    86.3 KB · Views: 11
I am no expert - only used hypo on my own property. It looks like you have black spot which hypo is good at removing. I have no idea what the stone is so might be worth waiting till someone more knowledgeable comes along.
A mask is a good idea as breathing in hypo isn't good for you. I believe you should use a ABEK type mask.
As for hypo mix I would try 1:4 and a 30 min dwell time with the paving given a pre wetting with water. If that doesn't shift the black spot try 1:3 and 30 mins dwell.

What are you trying to accomplish remove the yellowing from the mortar or black spots ?? Cannot see from the picture what the black spots are ?? Just be careful if there is any iron oxide in the stone as hypo will turn it rusty red .

Sorry guys just re read my post.. it originally had that awful red sand mortar inbetween and the mortar has been re done. I'm wanting to use it to hopefully get rid of the black spots on the slabs. Best of going for 1 litre hypo and 4 litres water? Scrub it in with firm brush and rinse off 30 mins later? As for the iron oxide I have no idea?