Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

Spotting on old wood frame windows

WCF

Help Support WCF:

I

Ian Bedborough

Hi Everyone,

Hope you can help!

I'm quite new to window cleaning and have been cleaning the same shop window every two weeks for the last six weeks.

This morning I cleaned in the same way as usual but it has left spotting!

The glass is old and single glazed and the window frames are wood.

Can anybody suggest what I have done wrong?

I use a wfp system and the resin was replaced about 1000 litres ago.

Any advice would be appreciated

Ian

I do a Residential Home that has wooden windows about every 8 years they have the window frames re-varnished they wait until they are in a pretty bad way until they get it done it takes us ages to get the frames clean it's by trees and there are Cobwebs and dust all over them. They painted them a few Months ago and now we are taking almost an hour less to do the job as the dirt slides off the gloss so it's not so much about what you are doing wrong it's what they are doing wrong by not looking after them? When paint is worn on wood you are flogging a dead horse.

I'm water fed pole and if any residential or normal commercial want trad outside they can get another window cleaner. All my shop windows at ground level are done trad I find its a lot quicker than running a hose over or along a path and no **** from frames. Also I'm from a coastal town so normally a lot of people around and lot of traffic along the sea road's so the frames get crappy il give em a wipe with a damp cloth if I water fed em the **** runs off them for ages.

The vast majority of my clients (approx 90%) have wooden windows- sliding sashes because it's in a Victorian conservation area.

I've been tradding for 25 years but I think i will be moving over to WFP hopefully soon.