Starting Out

Discussion in 'Traditional Window Cleaning' started by Dub Man, Apr 16, 2016.

Advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums.
    Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

1. Dub Man

Dub Man Newcomer

Hi guys, as the title says I'm just starting out window cleaning and haven't done it before. I've been reading this forum for the past few months and got some great tips.

I work during the week in an office and want to do it in the evenings and weekends. Long story short I'm basically financially screwed and being threatened with repossession so I need an extra income to help cover the bills. If I can earn an extra €400 - €500 pm part-time it will get me out of this hole.

I have a few questions:

1. Looking at the pricing of jobs on here they seem to be a lot cheaper than where I live (Dublin). I bought most of the equipment from a local supplier who has been cleaning windows for decades now and he said he typically prices a 3 bed semi (outside) for €30. That seems like a lot so how do I find if that is normal?

2. In my area there are a lot of housing estates that have been built in the last 20 years and most of them are built with the bottom section slightly further out than the top section with a small roof section between them. You can't stand on these roofs so I am going to order a ladder standoff next week which gives a clearance of 17" - 24" which I'm hoping should clear these roofs, has anyone ever used these?

3. Do you use Ubik to clean the frames or is that just for wfp?

4. I've been practising on my relatives houses but the squeegee leaves a trail of water at the edge, I don't know if it's the squeegee itself or if I'm doing it wrong?

Any advice would be appreciated, thanks.

Advertisement