Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

How to be faster

WCF

Help Support WCF:

Hi all!

I've been doing traditional window cleaning on the side for three years now, mostly just on Saturdays. I started from nothing, and taught myself as I went along!

Customers are very happy with my work, problem is that I'm way too slow in my opinion!

On a VERY good house and on a good day, I can just about turn over £20 in a hour, but for the most part, a £10 house (10 windows) takes an average of about 45 minutes for me to complete. A £20 house took me two hours to complete today.

My speed has increased over time, but any improvements levelled off for me over a year ago. I don't really know where else I could improve, though I have some thoughts I'd like to run past you guys.

- When squeegeeing, I quite often leave a line of water around the edges of the frame, which I then have to wipe off, which is time consuming. Is this bad technique, or just down to the type of window?

- How do you know when a squeegee rubber is worn out? Been using the same rubber for over a year since I bought my current squeegee, and it doesn't seem to be leaving any streaks or anything. Would I be surprised with the difference if I changed it?