viability of small town window cleaning

Discussion in 'Chit Chat & Introductions' started by etaylor, Feb 13, 2011.

Advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums.
    Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

1. etaylor

etaylor Guest

Hi I'm Ed,

I'm just starting out in the window cleaning buiness. I'm on the verge of laying out several thousand on equipment and vehical, one thing is causing me some worry though. I live in a small town of 10,000 population, the nearest city is 20 miles away. My town is reasonably afluent, but lets face it, everyones feeling the pinch. I'll be using a WFP set up. Is this a viable buiness to be attempting in my location, given that there are already a couple of well established window cleaners working my town, or would I be better travelling further a field.

Any suggestions would be helpful, thanks.

Advertisement
  2. nearlyclean

Supplier

Cant really say for certain till you try,but when you think the average home has 4 inhabitants 2500 homes plus commercial,A one man set may do 12-15 houses a day and 200 houses per month if there is a demand for window cleaners in your area you could fill that need if not you will have to look farther a field

3. etaylor

etaylor Guest

Thanks for that. Given that I'll be using a trolly set up, how much purified water am I likely to get through per house, say a three bed semi for example.
    What I'm getting at really, being new to the buisness, is would it be nesessary to transport a large quan***y of water in the van if I'm working far from home?
    Sorry if this is abit of a basic question. Ed.

4. Gav

Gav Grand Master
    Administrator