What on earth is this stuff?

Discussion in 'Chit Chat & Introductions' started by hedge, Jan 19, 2011.

Advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums.
    Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

1. hedge

hedge Guest

Hi all

I'm not a professional window cleaner (though I used to be a general cleaner). I'm just cleaning up this place I've just moved into.

Windows haven't been cleaned since the 20th century... satisfying getting all that dirt off.

There's this impossible stuff spattered over the top of some of the windows. In spatters, as if someone was being careless with a paint brush. Look dark, but seems to actually be clear (dark colour is dirt/paint covering it). I've tried white spirit, paint thinners, a cellulose lacquer thinner, with a sharp paint-removal tool - nothing will shift it. Even weirder, the stuff seems to have eaten into the window in places (I thought even acid couldn't do that...). Or was this some amateur's idea of filling in small cracks/scratches (and how did they happen anyway?)

Does anyone have any idea what this might be? Glue? And how I'd get it off?

thanks

hedge

Advertisement
  2. nearlyclean

Supplier

It could be brick acid that really burns into the glass,you can get glass restorers or try 0000 grade wire wool thats some suggest but try it first on a bit that wont be seen,apart from that I haven't clue

3. hedge

hedge Guest

Thanks for your suggestion! I think you're on the money about it being acid. I didn't know until now that hydrochloric acid was used for cleaning brickwork.