Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

Newbie book keeping / taxes

WCF

Help Support WCF:

M

Matt Cook

Hi guys

I'm a newbie starting off WFP in a VW caddy with an x-line 350ltr Di set up and some basic trad gear. But the part of this game that baffles me the most is the paper work. I work full time and I'm gonna filter the Windows in and drop away my full time job as the business grows but how do you deal with the paper work??? Do you have to keep every receipt for everything or do you just keep records of all in and out the submit it and they can ask for proof if needed??? Etc

Sent using the Window Cleaning Forums mobile app

Basically anything you spend relating to your business you need to keep a receipt for it. If you have items that you use for personal and business, car, mobile etc, you will need a receipt and claim a percentage for the business side only. 

As for what you earn then your records are strictly up to you. I suggest you ring up HMRC and register as self employed and ask them, they're actually a helpful and friendly bunch if you speak to them correctly. Good luck 

Basically anything you spend relating to your business you need to keep a receipt for it. If you have items that you use for personal and business, car, mobile etc, you will need a receipt and claim a percentage for the business side only. 
As for what you earn then your records are strictly up to you. I suggest you ring up HMRC and register as self employed and ask them, they're actually a helpful and friendly bunch if you speak to them correctly. Good luck 

Cheers Part timer I'll give HMRC a call

Sent using the Window Cleaning Forums mobile app

I visited my new accountant yesterday, my previous one passed away about seven years

ago and I've done my own books ever since. However having recently bought a new