Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

A little bit green

WCF

Help Support WCF:

P

Pickingpaul

Ive been using 25L bottles and a trolley system for a few months ow, using a DI vessel I fill up the water containers on my drive and leave them there until the next day i need them, sometimes several daysver weekends etc.

Twof them were looking a it green the other day, I wondered if anyone else has had this, and how can i avoid it? Its being left in the sun i guess and algae or something has started growing.

Clear plastic containers/tanks algae will grow eventually in them. Also wiggle micro organisms too so is not much you can do about it apart from washing them out now and then with a disinfectant to kill the algae etc. Keeping them out of sunlight might help to slow down the process but will still need sorting out after a while.

I wash all my clear plastic tanks out when they get bad at least once a year.

You could also recycle water through a uv bio steriliser filter too if you wanted which is a bit over the top for window cleaning if you ask me.

Last edited by a moderator:
wrap them in black shrink wrap its a cheap enough even if it lasts a month or two.

Cheers, as long as its totally normal, i just wasnt really expecting it.

Shrink wraps a good idea.

Clear plastic containers/tanks algae will grow eventually in them. Also wiggle micro organisms too so is not much you can do about it apart from washing them out now and then with a disinfectant to kill the algae etc. Keeping them out of sunlight might help to slow down the process but will still need sorting out after a while.
I wash all my clear plastic tanks out when they get bad at least once a year.

You could also recycle water through a uv bio steriliser filter too if you wanted which is a bit over the top for window cleaning if you ask me.