Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

Hello everybody

M

Mark Davies

Been reading the forum a while now thought it about time i introduced myself .

Mid 40's , background is in construction . Struggling for work , i mean really struggling . Relying on agencies but i've had enough of them for many reasons . Looking into self employment and a new start . Cleaning is what i'm looking into most though i will stress i have zero experience whatsoever , except doing my own now and then .

Not sure if to focus on one thing , ie windows or go for something like fascia cleans as it could be easier on plastic than glass . That's my major concern , whether i can actually do the job or not . If i'm going to sell a service , i'm going to need to be good at the job .

Only got an estate car at present , no cleaning gear at all . Finance is out the question so it wont be a van for a while , if at all . Equipment will be purchased on a tight budget too . Been looking at a few DIY trolleys , may have a go at one soon and get practising .

Anyway , i could rattle on forever but that'll do for now.

welcome mate , if i were you and i'm sure most on here would agree , why not go traditional to start off . setup is a fraction of the cost and the skills you learn are invaluable . as for glass or plastic personally i market my self/services as an external cleaner covering everything from gutters to drives, fence painting and more to avoid being pigeonholed and limiting my customer base plus most of the tools , chemicals and skills are transferable and crossover ie you cant really clean the gutters without cleaning the mess off the windows and it is the same with pressure washing . and as this beautiful weather shows i cant really go out cleaning connys so i have a few jetwash jobs to fall back on which aren't reliant on the weather