Welcome guest/lurker! Read more... ×
Download Our IOS and Android App! Read more... ×
Jimmy O

One to walk away from

Jimmy O

Hi all, I’ve been  asked to quote for a 4 bed house 9 years old with a new extension, got there today and every inch of every window was totally covered in plaster inside and out, I pointed out scratches on the one window the lady looked at, the rest were the same. All the frames and doors cacked too. I usually just price by day rate on these jobs. Told her she would need to sign a scratch waiver and the builders should have left the plastic on, but decided I’ve enough on to bother at all, she wants a total price, said she will see what the other company says. Done loads of these but this ain’t worth the grief. 

Why do these builders get away with such messy work, when I was a tree surgeon we would take out big trees grind out the stump and the place would be left immaculate. Rant over 😂👍

A98AE9F1-A931-4BEA-9ABA-567E8D72400C.jpeg

56BCF205-BAB6-4522-8FA6-0B3C5531DFFE.jpeg

AGlassAct

That’s been done in the cheap - no decent tradesman would leave that kind of mess. Just price high so if you do get it you’ll be smiling all day. I had a similar one not long ago - next door to a regular customer I have had an extension, somehow the builders managed to splash mortar all over the side windows, doors and lower velux windows (the extension was a good 10ft away from the boundary). They told my customer they would pay for me to restore them back to how they were, apparently they had a mini heart attack when they saw the invoice with hourly rate plus consumables. Hopefully it will make them think twice next time!!

Sent using the Window Cleaning Forums mobile app

Jimmy O
28 minutes ago, AGlassAct said: