Ana

Do you need a DI?

Ana

Hi all

ordered a RO unit from Daqua last night, my first purchase towards getting back to the cleaning action. With the RO unit in the post my attention has turned to getting a DI but do I really need one is the question? If my water comes out at 000 is there a need to clean it anymore?

Of course I don't yet know what the numbers are but hypothetically speaking is a Di required, especially as I'm just starting out?  

Part Timer

I doubt very much it will come out at zero. When I fill at my sons house, his water is around 100, my van system gets it down to 3 before DI. Now personally I don't have a problem cleaning windows at this level. I know some on here, the Pure Police, have a different opinion though 😃

Ana

Haha pure police I like it.

yes I very much doubt it as well, in all likelihood the RO will do the bulk and the resin will be required to polish it off. A WFP cleaner I've been chatting to has said he is prepared to clean up to 10 on the tds, 12 at a real push but tries to keep it below five. 

RWCleaning

My R.O comes out at 9ppm from water at originally 250ppm. I’ve never heard of a R.O coming out at 000. 

Mum currently using 4ppm water as my resin is on its way out, I ordered a new bag earlier though. The nearer to 000pm, the quicker you can be on the glass before it’ll dry crystal clear I guess 

*im not mum haha

Ana

My starting water is 230 so I'd be in the same boat as you with the ppm @RWCleaning I'd hazard a guess so a Di is a must, pretty much.

its good to know thanks guys 

RWCleaning

Yeh, only a little one, 7L vessel or something, that’s what I have. If your ppm after R.O is 10 or below your resin will last a good while. 

Ana

Cool that's good to know, was looking at an 11litre Di jobbie, thanks for the info 

BigFoot