Pressurewasher

Which surfactant?

Pressurewasher

Hi im about to do my first patio job using hypo, which surfactant would you recomend using with it?

im a total novice but reading up as much as i can take in 😬

Would this one do? Any cheaper slternatives?

thank you ever so much, you guys on this forum have been a massive help!!

image.jpeg

image.png

Pjj

Yes that will work ok , you don’t have to use it on flat surfaces though , surfactant is designed to stick the hypo to walls to slow down run off on a patio it won’t run off as it’s flat , make sure you wet the slabs well with water then apply your hypo mix , you can use surfactant with it if you want but don’t have to on patios , 

Pressurewasher
4 hours ago, Pjj said:

Yes that will work ok , you don’t have to use it on flat surfaces though , surfactant is designed to stick the hypo to walls to slow down run off on a patio it won’t run off as it’s flat , make sure you wet the slabs well with water then apply your hypo mix , you can use surfactant with it if you want but don’t have to on patios , 

Cheers pjj awesome info, saves me a few quid this time around 

Dennis Taylor

I use Evans Kind, a mild detergent that helps it to stick and stay put, but doesn’t cause too much froth when it comes to washing off.

Pressurewasher
On 15 April 2019 at 15:59, Dennis Taylor said:

I use Evans Kind, a mild detergent that helps it to stick and stay put, but doesn’t cause too much froth when it comes to washing off.

Got a link for that stuff by any chance dennis? Thanks

Dennis Taylor

eBay is as good as anywhere to get it, just search Evans Kind and if you buy several 5lts containers at a time the price is pretty good. I Add about a 1/4 litre per 25lts of hypo mixed to whatever percentage you intend to use, usually 3 - 5%.

mix it just before you intend to use it or the hypo will kill it.

Dennis

kevinc250
1 hour ago, Dennis Taylor said: