Don't want to see ads? Become a subscribed member.

Which ladder/ladders?

Guest nickm

Hi Guys

I'm new to window cleaning, starting off using traditional method. I was just wondering if anyone had any advice as to where to buy ladders and which type?

Guest colinvansmith

I disagree with Kars b&q ladders are diy and your liability insurance won't cover you if you are using diy ladders also they are **** and will buckle with daily use fairly quickly.

You will get a 5.5 - 6 metre box section double extention trade ladders from ebay for around £80 which is about the same as you'll pay in b&q for a Swear word!py diy set which won't last and you can't change the feet whereas the trade ones you can.

you will find you go through a pair of feet around every 6-9months depending on the use. They cost about a fiver to change and i think its something you need to do on a regular basis to keep your ladders safe and stop them slipping.

Triple extention trade ladders on ebay around 9 metres extended for around £130 these will allow you to reach gutters and you can always leave one section at home until you need it for a gutter clean etc.

Ladders from B&Q or Homebase are okay for use now and then,But for every day use a decent trade set from somewhere like Midland ladders are a must and a double A-frame is the best for window cleaning if you are doing a lot of ladder work

Ladders from B&Q or Homebase are okay for use now and then,But for every day use a decent trade set from somewhere like Midland ladders are a must and a double A-frame is the best for window cleaning if you are doing a lot of ladder work

All our ladders are from Midland ladders but then they are near enough to go to the shop and see them in the flesh.

I would say - never risk your life or job or insurance using cheap ladders.

With WFP systems most of us are not climbing ladders anything like would have been the case a few years ago but this is no excuse for risking your neck on second rate gear.