Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

RO systems GPD help!

WCF

Help Support WCF:

leeh123

Hi,

When looking at a RO system and it states, for example "75 gallons per day" is that how much water will be produced or how much water it processes in a 24 hour period? 

In other words would a 75 GPD system send 75 gallons through to the DI vessel?

Looking to start up WFP window cleaning in the new year and I think I'm doing fairly well with learning all the lingo but one thing I cant seem to get my head around is this

Any help is greatly appreciated,

Thanks ?

I am no expert on RO's but this my interpretation. First off when they say GPD they are talking US Gallons per day in the perfect conditions. 4 litres is a US Gallon in rough terms.

I have a 150gpd ro and at 28psi mains it takes 6 mins to produce a litre of pure!!! I added a booster pump, so now about 70 to 80psi and I get about 0.5 litre per min. Bear in mind that the booster can only be run 75% of the time, so 45mins on 15 mins off. So in theory I could get 540 litres per day = 135GPD. 

My TDS is fairly low at 125tds but I have poor mains pressure. Check your tds and mains pressure but I wouldn't go for any less than 150gpd I would really say 450gpd is minimum you want. I only bought a small system to test things and see how work progressed. I have only been up and running for about 8 weeks so I expect to have to increase capacity at some point.

I am no expert on RO's but this my interpretation. First off when they say GPD they are talking US Gallons per day in the perfect conditions. 4 litres is a US Gallon in rough terms.