Don't want to see ads? Become a subscribed member.

Broken Double Glazing?

vito61

Hi All

I've just had a customer ask me to only use traditional from now on. His complaint is that an inner piece of glass has shattered (toughened glass, sealed unit). I only ever do the outside. The manufacturer, lets call them Angle-iron Windows, has pointed finger at my good self. I cannot work out how this could have happened. Can wfp system cause this? I did not wack the window at any time. :huh:

Absolutely did not hit it. Customer not particularly blaming me. As he said to me "seed of doubt planted by d/g company" who btw, want something like £850 (!!!!!) to replace sealed unit approx 750mm x 750mm.

I would try and get a second opinion from another friendly DD company,I would think the outside glass would have damage if it was a clout from a WFP brush.More likely a faulty unit or broken from the inside.Sounds very fishy to me.

Guest Paulie18

Hi. I'm actually a glazier by trade, as well as a budding window cleaner. First off, there is no way I can see the inner pane being broken by a wfp. Breaking the outer pane would be highly unlikely. It couldn't have been you, and the window company knows that. You're being used as a scapegoat for what was most likely either the unwitting fault of the customer or some internal pressure in the window's rebate which caused the unit to crack. The latter would implicate the window company, so naturally they're happy for you to take the rap.

Sounds like a stalemate to me. Best put it down to experience. At least you kept the customer.