Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

Black inky juice from window seals ☠️

WCF

Help Support WCF:

Ben1979

Gents,

I'm still a newbie at this and looking for some advice please...

What the hell is that inky black stuff that seeps out of the window seals?

I'm guessing it might be the old window rubber seals deteriorating?...

At a couple of the houses I clean, this horrible black goo seeps out of the window rubbers the second I touch them ... And instantly stains the white uPVC frames black.

As a result I spend ages trying to scrub it off the frames. And nothing seems to shift it once it's stained onto the frames.

My sole tactic so far is to try to avoid touching it...

Do you guys have any advice you can share for dealing with this evil stuff please? How to stop it leaking out or how to remove the leaky stains?

(Sorry if this has already been covered... I did try the search button but no joy so far.)

Thanks in advance for your wisdom!
Ben

Hi Ben , unfortunately there isn’t much you can do about it the seals are breaking down due to age and exposure to UV light you can remove the black staining from the frames with ciff cream cleaner but it will return very quickly so it’s not cost effective. This is something that you will come across more frequently as you do more work on older windows , we explained to the customers that we will do our best but cannot prevent it from coming back .

You are right that it's the seals breaking down. You need to explain to customers what's happening and that you can't really sort it. As PJJ said Cif cream or pink stuff works but it will come back as soon as it rains. I have found if the seals start leaching rinsing the frames immediately cuts down on making more stains. Try and not touch the seals with a brush if you can as brushing seems to make them 'bleed' more.