Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

First Clean taking me around 1 hour?

WCF

Help Support WCF:

ashley1337

Hi all,

I'm really new to window cleaning (did my first customer on Sunday). I waited until my van was up and running before advertising, and managed to get 18 regular customers signed up with GoCardless within the first couple of days, but I'm having the problem that every customer hasn't had their windows cleaned in like 10+ years, and every sill, frame and door really shows it. I'm using wfp, but having to use pink stuff and scrub until I cant feel my arms anymore to get the **** off lol. Am I doing too much or am I just doing it wrong?

I'm doing this along side my main job, at the minute, and I always work outside on price work so by no means am I slow or mess around whilst working. I seem to be absolutely nonstop but cant get my time down at all.

I've put a couple of pics below of what pretty much every single window and door has looked like so far other than 1 customer...

Any advice is appreciated!

09A47F43-B741-4D2A-A405-C6C618757809.jpegFB64EF70-1556-417E-91B7-BEC94ABF8114.jpeg421A3E28-70A0-41E9-93A6-7B02DFB75BD7.jpeg

As long as you're charging them a first clean charge then you're doing a good job. Speed comes with practice so don't expect to be doing 3 or 4 houses an hour in your first year, especially 1st cleans.
If you're not charging extra then you should try to, the most important thing for you to do though is get customers.
I've been charging the same as a regular clean just so I can get them as a regular. I've had a few one off's ask for quotes and when I've quoted them higher than the monthly price they seem disgusted that I've asked haha.