Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

Information on buffer tanks

WCF

Help Support WCF:

mcessford1

Good Afternoon,

I'm new to the pressure-washing world and I was wondering if I can get some help in terms of getting the right amount of water pressure needed for commercial and residential work.

At the moment, I have a 2.5gpm pressure washer. I've been told that I don't need a buffer tank as I can just draw straight from the customer's mains. However, when I use my pressure washer I can see the hose literally shink a little bit, suggesting that I need more water to draw from.

So would a buffer tank be the next step?

Also, can you (and how can you) use both the customer's mains AND the buffer tank?

Any information or advice would be greatly appreciated as I'm trying to learn the trade.

Thank you.

In the UK you are allowed to pull a maximum of 12 litres per min from a domestic supply. If your 2.5gpm is a US measurement then that's about 10 litres per min.
A buffer tank is just something like a wheelie bin that has a hose from customers tap filling it and your pressure washer sucking water out of it. They are mainly for machines that would pull more than 12 litres per min or if the customers supply is low pressure or flow.

You will always be overdrawing the supply. We have a 240 litre wheelie bin where the garden hose plugs into it. There's a float inside the bin which rises when water rises and closes the valve. The hose suppling the PW goes into the bin and draws the water you need. Check Utube for some videos about it.

My last job of the year last year the customers supply was able to keep up with my p/w. I wish all jobs had a flow rate like that.