Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

Are They Gonna Tell Me To **** Off?!

WCF

Help Support WCF:

Joe

Ive been asked to quote a house which is a bit out of my way but its one of my old p.e teachers so I said ill do it.

The only problem is that they are all leaded windows and they have a low 45 degree roof running around the outside of the 1st floor, so that will make ladder use a bit trickier. (think ill have to put ladders up higher than the window and reach down rather than up.)

There are a 7 double windows, one bay window, french doors and a back door with a small window, also a porch.

Ive priced it at £36 for a 1st clean & £18 4 weekly thereafter.

I have never done leadeds before, so unsure how much longer than usual they will take?

Cheers Guys

Well joe are you trad only? Wfp you would fly through the leaded houses..

Before I got the pole it would took me at least twice the time.. Scrimming every pane is a pain in the gl-a$$!

First clean will be even longer!!

to put the ladder up high than the windows at a safe angle, you would never reach the windows. this is a hard one for trad cleaners as there in no safe way of doing it without having ladders at wrong angles and climbing all over roof!

leaded window are a pain in the bum to do as, i believe that you have to do them all by cloth.

The ladder over roof... Can you not get the ladder to reach the sill? I have a ladder stand off and this is great for them over the roof windows.. But I got a pole now too so the ladder stand off stays in the van for gutter jobs lol

having a ladder at a steeper angle is not the right way for it and can put stresses on the ladder which they are not designed for, i know all window cleaners do it, but its not good practice really.

Coulds you not take someone with you to foot the ladders while you clean it?