TDS 10 new system HELP

Discussion in 'Water Fed Pole Cleaning' started by koopmaster, Mar 18, 2012.

Advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums.
    Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

  1. koopmaster

    koopmaster Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    177
    Hi All, I just got a 100gpd with DI system. I connected everything and have run about 50 L and my TDS is still 10.

    My tap TDS is 150 - 170 so I would expect the 10 TDS to be without my resin in but I have put the resin canister in from the start and its still 10.

    I suspect I have burned out the resin (or at least thats what I was told) but I am at a loss. any help from the more experienced would be helpful. Do i need to go buy some more resin and try again or should i run it for a few more hours???

    thanks

    matt
     
    Advertisement
  2. Paul

    Paul Guest

    Are you using a RO system matt
     
  3. koopmaster

    koopmaster Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    177
    Yes its a RO system with a DI
     
  4. James

    James Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,329
    Likes Received:
    0
    What are your filters and membranes like in your RO system?


    ---
    I am here: http://tapatalk.com/map.php?xy2sr4
     
  5. koopmaster

    koopmaster Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    177
    They are brand new, only run the system for 1 hour
     
  6. James

    James Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,329
    Likes Received:
    0
    And what is the state of your resin?


    ---
    I am here: http://tapatalk.com/map.php?qdgedt
     
  7. koopmaster

    koopmaster Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    1,157
    Likes Received:
    177
    how do you figure that out? its brand new was sealed at the beginning of the week
     
  8. James

    James Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ahh it's brand new, have you tried using a booster pump?


    ---
    I am here: http://tapatalk.com/map.php?ok3pjj
     
  9. badbusdriver

    badbusdriver Guest

    I am not an expert on r/o systems, but dont they take a bit of time to, in effect, 'run in'?. A windy pal of mine has a static system in his garage with a small r/o unit. The water out the tap here is about 190ppm, and i seem to remember him leaving it going over***ht. When we 1st got it going, the water was coming through at about 50ppm!, but gradually it started coming down and eventually settled at around 10ppm. But if the resin isnt making any difference to the ppm then something is clearly wrong, maybe the vessel is plumbed in wrong?, or maybe you dont have enough water pressure? (although if that were the case i would expect your r/o system not to be working either), or you have some duff resin? (i dont know if that is likely though, its certainly never happened to me).
     
  10. James

    James Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1,329
    Likes Received:
    0
    I presume every RO system has a 'break in' point where everything will settle down. If nothing changes though I would definitely recommend using a booster pump.


    ---
    I am here: http://tapatalk.com/map.php?brcrdm
     
Advertisement