will i need to invest in wfp

Discussion in 'Traditional Window Cleaning' started by mjd, Apr 21, 2014.

Advertisement
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums.
    Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

1. mjd

mjd Newcomer

Hi all, i am just starting out on my own and have been reading the rules and regulations i.e hight restriction. I am a traditional window cleaner and believe that it is the best way but am not sure if its the way forward. I would appreciate some guidence or tips from some of you more experienced smudgers....thanks

Advertisement
  2. TolishAPurd

If you are self employed then its your choice. But if you are employing someone then you would have to go the WFP route, because if they come off the ladder they could sue you for putting them on it in the first place. As an employer you have to take reasonable steps to ensure your employees safety. If you are subcontracting then its not an issue as they are effectively self employed. Thats my understanding of it.

3. Tuffers

Tuffers Hero

Start trad and see how you get on. My pet hate is people just starting up and going WFP straight away. You need to be able to mop and blade competently to call yourself a window cleaner IMO.

4. Smurf

Smurf Banned

But at the same time don't put yourself at unnecessary risks when using ladders when working on your own if alternative safer methods are available like using a trad pole instead.

5. cheapncheerful

hi and welcome to the forum...mjd...i only trad at the mo but looking very much at wfp and believe you should be capable of both to be a success...the cheapest start up is of course trad but you cant fall off a ladder working on the ground:) good luck anyway and keep us informed of your progress..

6. norm

norm Grand Master