Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

Canvassing Exposed

WCF

Help Support WCF:

Whizz-Bizz

Canvassing exposed and what to ask to avoid getting ripped off

Firstly I would just like to introduce myself my names Mark Nicholson and I run and own www.whizzbizzsales.com. I’ve been knocking for window cleaners consistently for 5 years. In that time I believe that I have been innovative and progressive not only in the way that I work but the way I deal with my clients. Being the first, and only marketing team in this industry to have a strong presence across many online formats. I have looked to change the way things are done by launching a marketing package rather than the usual standard canvassing.

What I’m going to do is just highlight a few things that you should look out for to avoid hiring the wrong person or the wrong team for your business.

1: Do they have a telephone number?

2: Do they always answer their phone or if they miss your call do they contact you back?

3: Do they have a website?

4: Are they on facebook?

5: Are they on twitter?

6: Is there a contact address on any paperwork?

7: Will they produce photo identification?

8: Do they provide references that you can actually ring and verify using Google / Bing etc as genuine clients?

9: Have they been involved in window cleaning a long time or just starting up?

10: When paying money do they always insist on cash hence no papertrail?

If you’re considering hiring a canvassing firm and you have said no to 5 or more of these statements, be wary of hiring them and I would perhaps start small or not all.

Now here are some additional things you should ask your prospective canvasser / canvassing team and the things you need to hear.

Q: How soon can I start cleaning the work after you have booked it?