Welcome to the UK Window Cleaning Forums

Starting or own a window cleaning business? We're a network of window cleaners sharing advice, tips & experience. Rounds for sale & more. Join us today!

Taking on a worker

WCF

Help Support WCF:

Hyzer373

Hi guys, I am looking at taking on a worker, he is family member & very trustworthy.
I won’t be doing it until my work grows more but just wanna get my head round how it works as I’m a sole trader & would be looking at taking him on as him being self employed & on a percentage based pay for work done daily.
I know it has to meet minimum wage & that will be fine.
What I’m wondering is if I take him on & he goes self employed I’m wondering is what I’d have to do with hmrc, like I’d need to deduct his wages on each year tax return, what else would I need to do?
Also when he does his return would he put my company name down or not as he’d be self employed, would he be classed as sole trader also or just self employed?
If there’s any other tips etc from people who who know about this or have taken on a self employed worker.
I’d not want to get accountant as it costs more & if I take him on next year my round is not massive, still building.
Just want to get my head round it all to see if it’s worth it or be too much hassle.

If he works solely for you gets all his work from you and has no work or business of his own then in the eyes of HMRC his not self employed.

I use self employed subbiies every one that’s worked for me has there own work,vans and tools.
They invoice me and get paid it’s up to them to sort there own tax and n.I out.

If he works solely for you gets all his work from you and has no work or business of his own then in the eyes of HMRC his not self employed.

I use self employed subbiies every one that’s worked for me has there own work,vans and tools.
They invoice me and get paid it’s up to them to sort there own tax and n.I out.